The directors of the Melrose Learning Trust are accountable to external government agencies including the Charity Commission and the Department for Education (DfE) for the quality of the education provided by the Company in addition to having financial accountability. The directors are required to have systems in place through which they can assure themselves of quality, safety and good practice. The directors are also accountable to Diocesan Board of Education Board to ensure that the Church of England academies within the Company and their business are conducted in accordance with the values and ethos of the Church of England and the Anglican faith. Further information about Trust governance can be found here: Welcome – Melrose Learning Trust

The Governing Body has been established by the Board of Directors to assist with the good governance of the Academies within the Trust.  The directors may appoint people with appropriate skills and knowledge to serve on the Governing Body.

Please contact the school office (tel. no. 01325 380758 or email if you wish to make contact with the chair, Myfanwy Eyres.

Governing Body MemberDesignationTerm of office: FromTerm of office:
Myfanwy Eyres (chair) Director appointed member12.02.201912.02.2027
Wendy Aitken (Headteacher) ex officio01.10.2016n/a
Reverend Damon Bage (Director appointed member)Director appointed member01.10.2016n/a
Philip Stokes (Director appointed member)Director appointed member20.11.201819.11.2026
Pat Abbott (Director appointed member)Director appointed member13.02.202012.04.2024
Lisa Jones Staff member11.10.202110.10.2025
Neil JohnsonParent elected08.02.202307.02.2027
Chris MinikinDirector appointed member07.02.202406.02.2028
VacancyParent elected
Governing Body MemberDesignationTerm of office:
Term of office:
Catherine RamplinParent elected20.10.202117.01.2024

Attendance Register 2023 – 2024

Myfanwy EyresPresentPresent
Philip StokesPresentPresent
Wendy AitkenPresentPresent
Father DamonApologies acceptedApologies accepted
Pat AbbottPresentPresent
Lisa JonesPresentPresent
Cat RamplinApologies acceptedResigned
Neil JohnsonPresentApologies accepted
Chris MinikinPresent

Attendance Register 2022 – 2023

Myfanwy EyresPresentPresent Present
Philip StokesPresentPresentPresent
Wendy AitkenPresentPresentPresent
Father DamonApologies acceptedApologies acceptedApologies accepted
Pat AbbottPresentPresentPresent
Lisa JonesPresentPresentPresent
Cat RamplinApologies acceptedPresentPresent
Neil JohnsonPresentApologies accepted

Attendance Register 2021 – 2022

Myfanwy EyresPresentPresentPresent
Wendy AitkenPresentPresentPresent
Father DamonApologies acceptedApologies acceptedPresent
Philip StokesApologies acceptedPresentPresent
Pat AbbottPresentPresentPresent
Lisa JonesPresentPresentPresent
Catherine RamplinPresentPresentPresent
Stacey SmartPresentApologies acceptedResigned
Lee KirklandPresentPresentResigned

"Ours are the eyes through which His compassion looks out on the world. Ours are the feet with which he walks to do good. Ours are the hands with which he blesses the world." - St Teresa of Avila